Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 11 of 11

Joseph Bernardin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1990.02
Scope and Contents Fifty-eight diaries of Joseph Buchanan Bernardin, Episcopal clergyman, dated 1913-1987, and thirteen scrapbooks of clippings, invitations, programs, and other memorabilia.Most of his diary entries do not go into detail, but record the bare bones of his daily activities.  He often mentions people with whom he socializes and good friends.  But he rarely tells what he is reading, or mentions particulars about his parishioners or friends.  He mentions places he visits, from...
Dates: 1913-1987
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...
Dates: 1743-1896
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Julia Seldon Grandy Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 G76
Scope and Contents

Includes manuscripts of poetry written by Julia Selden Grandy who lived in Norfolk, Va. and Baltimore, Md. as well as short stories by Grandy; translations by Grandy of French poetry written by Stephen Mallarme (1842-1898); diaries kept while in school in New York and on trips to Paris and London; published books by Grandy; and scrapbooks.  Includes a biography, poem and her obituary.

Dates: 1914-1962
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Virginia Taylor McCormick Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M13
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1887-1953, of Virginia Taylor McCormick, Norfolk, Va. poet, literary critic, essayist, lecturer, and editor of The Lyric magazine, 1921-1929. Includes manuscript and printed poems; essays; lectures; diaries, and correspondence with other poets and writers. Correspondents include Franklin Pierce Adams, Lady Astor, Lord Beaverbrook, Gamaliel Bradford, Van Wyck Brooks, Walter de la Mare, Ellen Glasgow, Rupert Hughes, Amy Lowell, H. L. Mencken and Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings.

Dates: 1873-1957
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Page-Saunders Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P15
Scope and Contents Correspondence and papers of members of the Page and Saunders families. Includes correspondence of Margaret Lowther Page of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. with her daughter Lucy Burwell Page Saunders and her son-in-law Robert Saunders. The collection includes a diary, 1826, of Robert Saunders while on a trip from New York to Le Havre; published stories of Lucy Burwell Page Saunders; manuscript stories by Roberta Saunders; and correspondence of Robert Page Saunders....
Dates: 1790-1932
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Tayloe Perrin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P42
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1770-1931, of the Perrin family of Gloucester County, Va. Chiefly the diaries and writings of John Tayloe Perrin. Includes farm books, scrapbooks, accounts, wills, and articles by Perrin.

Dates: 1770-1931
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Anthony Reiff Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00633
Scope and Contents

Two incomplete speeches of Anthony Reiff, President of the Musical Mutual Protective Union, New York and an incomplete diary (journal), written as if a book with chapters and page numbers, of a trip beginning in 1856 where he traveled in the United States and Europe. He talks of music venues, performers, composers and his personal experiences.

Dates: 1856 and undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Sixty-Seventh Field Hospital Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.35
Scope and Contents

The 67th Field Hospital Collection contains documents and photographs depicting the history of the 67th Field Hospital during the European Theater of World War II and the 17 reunions of the 67th Field Hospital held from 1986 to 2002.

Dates: 1943-2002; Majority of material found in 1943-1946 and 1986-2002
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates: 1811-1954
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Silas Totten Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.031
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters, diaries, speeches, and other material written by Silas totten, a professor at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection is a letter from Silas Totten to Ebenezer Faxon requesting him to come to the college and draw architectural plans for a new college building after the 1859 fire. Other letters in the collection were written by and to members of the Totten family. A certificate of Silas Totten's admission to the Holy Order of Priests and...
Dates: 1845-1916
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tyler Family Papers, Group G

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group G
Scope and Contents Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...
Dates: 1645-1917
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Diaries X
  • Subject: Manuscripts (document genre) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 8
Scrapbooks 4
Account books 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
Legal documents 3
∨ more
Photographs 3
Poems 3
American diaries--Women authors 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Poets, American--20th century 2
Publications 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Speeches, addresses, etc. 2
Typescripts 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
United States--Slavery 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Agendas (administrative records) 1
American literature--20th century 1
American poetry--20th century 1
Authors, American--Women 1
Baltimore (Md.)--History--20th century 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Booklets 1
Broadsides 1
Catalogs 1
Chaplains, Military--United States--20th century 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Education--Study and teaching 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
England--Description and travel--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Clergy 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Europe--Description and travel--19th century 1
Financial records 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
France--Description and travel--20th century 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Maps 1
Minutes 1
Music--19th century. 1
Newsletters 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Opera--19th century 1
Pamphlets 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Portraits 1
Programs 1
Railroads--Virginia--History 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Reports 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Slaves--Virginia--Correspondence 1
Slaves--Virginia--Social conditions 1
Speeches 1
Technical reports 1
Texas--History--Republic, 1836-1846 1
Textbooks 1
United States--Description and travel 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States--Politics and Government 1
Virginia Military Institute--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Women authors, American--20th century 1
Women--History--Virginia 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
World War, 1939-1945--Medical and sanitary affairs. 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
Anderson Seminary 1
Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 1
Bernardin, Joseph Buchanan, 1899-1987 or 1988 1
Booth family 1
∨ more
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 1
Carter, Mary B. 1
Copland, Charles 1
Cryer, William 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Farmer's Register 1
Gardiner Family 1
Gardiner, Alexander, d. 1850 1
Gardiner, David Lyon 1
Gardiner, Juliana McLachlan, d. 1864 1
Gilmer Family 1
Gilmer, Anne Baker 1
Gilmer, Thomas Walker 1
Grandy, Julia Selden, 1903-1962 1
Longwood University 1
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 1
McCormick, Virginia Taylor, 1873-1957 1
Moore family 1
Musical Mutual Protective Union (N. Y.) 1
New York Weekly Journal of Commerce 1
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 1
Orchestra 1
Page family 1
Perrin family 1
Perrin, John Taloe 1
Petersburg Index (Va.) 1
Peticolas, C. L. Southern Cross 1
Reiff, Anthony, 1830?-1916 1
Reunions 1
Richmond Enquirer 1
Saunders family 1
Saunders, Robert, 1805-1868 1
Sixty-Seventh Field Hospital 1
Southern Literary Messenger 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Todd family 1
Totten, Silas 1
Totten, Silas, 1804-1873 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
Tyler Family 1
Virginia Historical Society 1
Welling, William Blodget, 1924-2006 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
+ ∧ less